Office 365 Shared Mailbox Setup

I have been using Zammad in production for a few months now and it’s been working fine. I, however, want to add an Office 365 Shared mailbox to it, but I have been encountering errors with it.

I am using a user account with an Office 365 license and send permission setup to authenticate the shared mailbox, but it does not seem to authenticate successfully. Since I use 2 Factor Authentication on the user account, I had to generate an App password for Zammad. The shared email address is represented here as support@virtualapp.com and my user account is promise.preston@myapp.com.

My configuration is:

IMAP
User: promise.preston@myapp.com\support@virtualapp.com
Host: outlook.office365.com
Password: The generated app password for Zammad

SMTP
User: promise.preston@myapp.com
Host: smtp.office.com

Infos:

• Zammad version: Zammad v3.2.0
  • Zammad installation source: git repository source
  • Operating system: Ubuntu 18.04
  • Browser + version: Google Chrome v77
  • Elasticsearch: Elasticsearch 7.x
  • Hosted on: AWS EC2 Medium Instance

Expected behavior:

• I expect the email address to authenticate appropriately using the credentials given since the user account has an Office 365 license and send permission setup to authenticate the shared mailbox account .

Actual behavior:

• When I input the IMAP settings below:

IMAP
    User: promise.preston@myapp.com\support@virtualapp.com
    Host: outlook.office365.com

I get the error LOGIN FAILED. I don’t know if the issue is because the user account and the shared mailbox have different domains promise.preston@myapp.com and support@virtualapp.com.

Steps to reproduce the behavior:

• Setup a new instance of Zammad
  • Setup an Offfice 365 shared mailbox
  • Try adding the Offfice 365 shared mailbox to Zammad