Bcc for outgoing emails

As in normal email communication also with support tickets it is sometimes required to send copies to third parties which should not be seen by the primary recipients. This is currently not possible. We often work around it by sending two mails: One to the primary recipient(s) and an other to the BCC recipient(s). However this bloats tickets and database and makes tickets less clear and readable.

As a request this has been denied in https://github.com/zammad/zammad/pull/1040. However this pull request is over two years old and the answer by @thorsteneckel then was, that “[…] This does not mean that there will be never a BCC functionality in Zammad. It’s only for now. […]”. Maybe/hopefully this assessment has changed in the meantime. I cannot imagine, that adding a BCC option is complicated. On the other hand I am no coder :slight_smile: .

10 Likes

No update so far. We receive this feature request very very rarely. Since Zammad aims to be as slick and simple as possible with minimal overhead we won’t add features that are not relevant for 80% of our user base. However, we’re working on making Zammad more easy to customize to enable the user base to introduce such changes themself. This will take some time…

We would be interested in this feature as well because we want to combine Zammad with our Salesforce-CRM. The easiest possibility is that every Account Manager in Zammad adds his individual salesforce-ingoing-email to BCC so that there is a seemless integration.

Global BCC does not fullfill our requirement :frowning:

Hi @dkehne - thanks for your use case description. We plan to release a feature with Zammad 3.4 where you can have single Users as Trigger email recipients (https://github.com/zammad/zammad/issues/535). I think this will resolve your issue more robust because agents can’t forget to add the BCC and will scale better in terms of agent training.

Here’s an example configuration:

2 Likes