Allow English -> English translations?

There’s been a topic about this in the past: How to change/translate some of English terms?

The result back then was that this is not possible without editing the template files. Has this changed since then? Because when I press Ctrl+Alt+t as an admin, I can modify the English strings just fine. I changed “Dashboard” to “Dashboard test”, and the change persisted even when I restart the docker-compose containers.

Unfortunately, the string I actually want to edit is “Enter Answer or select attachment…”, and that one cannot be edited with Ctrl+Alt+t because you can’t select it. (I want to change it because I’m afraid it might be confusing to our agents - we aren’t going to allow customers access to Zammad (it’ll be accessible only from our company network), so the text field will be for all intents and purposes an internal note field only. At least I was confused initially because I assumed that it was the reply field, but no reply email was sent when I put text in there.)

When you change the language to any other language than English, you can edit all strings in Manage -> Translations, but English will only change words I’ve modified (e.g. Dashboard -> Dashboard test), or “English is the source language, so we have nothing to translate.” when there aren’t any edited words.

Could this be changed so that all English words can be edited here?

Infos:

• Used Zammad version: 2.8.x
  • Used Zammad installation source: docker-compose
  • Operating system: Debian 9
  • Browser + version: Chrome 72

Hey,

no, this is not possible, sorry about that.
The reason is still the same actually. :slight_smile:

Possibly related:

I’m just going through the German translation to fix some typos. Unfortunately, a lot of the original English strings are also in some need of improvement ^^

It would therefore be also very useful if it were possible to edit the English strings so I could improve them and submit my suggestions :slight_smile: