Exchange 2010 VS zammad

• Used Zammad version: 5.1.1 - just upgraded UAT
  • Used Zammad installation type: (source, package, docker-compose, …) package
  • Operating system: Ubuntu 20.0.4
  • Browser + version: latest chrome & or Edge

Expected behavior:

so in our current live environment on version 3.6.X our emails are configured fine and zammad is working like a dream! thats how i would expect it to work in 4.0 and the latest…

Actual behavior:

I’ve tried upgrading to just 4.0 with the same outcome as going, to the very latest, afterwards the emails just don’t work, I’ve removed all the settings and then when I put them back in again I’m getting the error:

SSL_connect returned=1 errno=0 state=error: unsupported protocol

Steps to reproduce the behavior:

re configure emails under channels.

i am quite new to Linux so you will have to bear with me when it comes to your feedback and walking me through things i will try my best :slight_smile:

i cant test it for you on our systems.
But can it be that TLS1.2 isn’t enabled on your exchange2010 server?
i can hardly imagen these days…

Well we are using the same exchange as our live so if that was the case would we not have the same error on our live version :smirk: as far as i know tls is setup on exchange as we have other products that use it.

i can be wrong entirely, but when i read ssl and protocol error, TLS pops up my mind as first.
zammad 3.6 uses ruby in a 2.4.* range if i’m correct, zammad 4 uses 2.6.* and zammad 5 uses 2.7.*,
it can be that during the transistion, default tls1.0 (and maybe tls1.1) are disabled by default and only tls1.2 is allowed. (and SSL v3 should be disabled anyways)

if your server is exposed to the internet (webmail for instance), then use SSLLabs to test used protocols,
if you dont want to, you can use NMAP (.org) with a script setting to test what protocols are enabled.
Try with default 443 for you webmail and you imap(s) port for imap.