Automated backup script

Hi All,

Recently we have implemented nightly backups of our Zammad instance.

I thought i would share the code for the backup script here if it may help others.

This is fed from the info from the posts below.
https://community.zammad.org/t/disable-email-via-api/9820
https://community.zammad.org/t/activate-maintenance-mode-via-rails/8067

event flow is as follows

backup initiated →
email channel disabled (currently only a single channel) →
enables maintenance mode →
does a full Zammad backup →
syncs the backup files, aswell as the email templates and the backup scripts directory to a remote server via SSH using RSYNC (will need to use key based auth) →
takes Zammad out of maintenance mode →
re-enables the email channel

The script also timestamps, and outputs all information to a log file that is also synced to the remote server.

Feel free to modify as needed. its pretty crude, i am no expert coder.

only dependency that is needed is JQ

sudo apt install -y jq

ours is inserted into CRON as below

1 23 * * * /home/zammad/backup_and_sync.sh >> /home/zammad/zammad_backup_log

main sh script
All that is needed is to edit the variables at the top specific to your environment.

#!/bin/bash

##########################################

Red='\033[0;31m'          # Red
Green='\033[0;32m'        # Green
Yellow='\033[0;33m'       # Yellow
NC='\033[0m'              # No Color

zammad_server='<IP HERE>/api/v1/channels_email'
email_index='"id": <EMAIL ACCOUNT INDEX HERE>'
bearer_token='<API KEY HERE>'

backup_server='<IP HERE>'
backup_server_username='<BACKUP SERVER USERNAME HERE>'
backup_server_location='<LOCATION ON REMOTE SERVER WHERE TO SEND FILES TO HERE>'
backup_log='<LOCATION OF THE BACKUP LOG ON THE LOCAL ZAMMAD HOST HERE>'

json_query='.assets.Channel."<EMAIL ACCOUNT INDEX HERE>".active'

echo -e "${Green}Zammad backup and sync process started${NC}" >> ${backup_log}
date  >> ${backup_log}
echo ''  >> ${backup_log}