Triggered a re-import of deleted emails, what to do?

We disabled the account, that seems to have stopped import and automatic replies.

But if we enable it again, will it continue processing that queue?

How can we cancel the queue?
If we disable SMTP for that channel, will it fail that work queue or will it just keep retrying forever?